A guide to library services and resources for students enrolled in the EWU Online Dental Hygiene Degree Completion Program.
- NetID Account for Accessing Databases
Use your NetID login for accessing EWU databases from off-campus. This is the same login that is used for EWU email and for computer labs on campus. The above link will allow you to activate or change your NetID login.
- IT Help Desk
EWU tech support for students and faculty. Get help managing your NetID account, logging in from off-campus, and other nuts-and-bolts issues of basic access to EWU online resources.
- EBooks on EBSCOhost
Access thousands of recent electronic books, as well as thousands of classics in the public domain. Also includes hundreds of downloadable audiobooks. For dental hygiene related material, try the following search: dental or dentist* or "oral health"
- EWU WorldCat Catalog
Combined catalog of EWU and over 30 academic libraries in Washington & Oregon, as well as thousands of other libraries worldwide. EWU holdings are ranked first. Requested items from Summit Libraries take 3-5 days; WorldCat interlibrary loan requests take 1-2 weeks.
- Summit Libraries
If you live near one of the 30+ Summit Libraries in the Orbis-Cascade Alliance, you may check out books in person from any of the participating libraries. You will be required to show your EWU ID and complete a one-time registration process in order to be "adopted" by the host library.
- Distance Book Request Form
Use the Interlibrary Loan system to to request a book. (You'll need to create an account for yourself the first time you use the system.) You'll get free "door to door" delivery of books from the library's collection as well as from other libraries (interlibrary loan). We pay the postage -- your item will arrive with a pre-paid return label. Note: this service also works best when ordering books you have located in the EWU Library Catalog.
- Distance Article Request Form
When the full text of an article you want is not available online, use the Interlibrary Loan system to to request it. (You'll need to create an account for yourself the first time you use the system.) The JFK Library Interlibrary Loan Department will find the article for you. Whether the article is physically available in the library's journal collection, or we have to obtain a copy from another library, we'll post a high-resolution electronic scan of your article to our web server.
A citation management program which facilitates collecting, organizing, and formatting your research references - makes APA and other citation styles a snap.
- EWU Libraries Distance and Online Education Portal
If the above links don't provide the information you need, click here to go to the library's complete guide to services and resources for students enrolled in off-campus programs.
- EBSCO Multiple Database Search
This link opens a customized (and customizable) multiple-database search from the EBSCO interface: simultaneously search MEDLINE, CINAHL, Health Source and Academic Search Complete.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost) -- 1937-present
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, indexes over 5,400 journals, a few as far back as 1937, and includes citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. CINAHL Complete adds full-text coverage for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) -- 1946-present
Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine, covering around 5000 journals. This version includes some full-text articles.
- PubMed -- 1946-present
Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine (covering around 5000 journals) back to 1946. Freely available from the National Library of Medicine, PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus additional selected biomedical sources. Look for the "Check for Full Text at EWU" button within individual PubMed records.
- Cochrane Library
Portal to access six databases for evidence-based medicine. Cochrane Reviews are available full text back to the mid 1990s, while others are indexes. Click on "i" icon for more information.
Full-text articles from around 160 journals (mainly medical or scientific) and indexing for another 3200 journals. Most of the journals are published by Elsevier, but includes titles from 15 other scientific publishers as well.
- Web of Science -- 1985-present (sciences); 1992-present (social sciences)
Indexes articles and analyzes citations from over 8,500 scientific journals back to 1985, and another 3,000 social sciences journals back to 1992.
- Boolean Operators
These are the connecting terms -- and, or and not -- that allow you to arrange your search terms with logic and precision. Use and to narrow your search, or to broaden your search, and not to exclude irrelevant records from your search.
Nesting is an extension of Boolean logic. You must always remember to "nest" or group synonymous or related terms linked by the or operator. Normally you use parentheses to nest such terms; alternatively some databases allow you to simply type the terms you want to nest together -- joined by the or operator -- in the same search box.
- Phrase Searching
Most databases require that you enclose a phrase in quotation marks if you want to search on it as a phrase.
This is a handy way to cover multiple variations of a search term without having to type in each full-length term; you shorten your term to the first few relevant letters and then add the truncation character. In most databases the truncation character is the asterisk (*) but in some cases it may be a question mark (?) or pound sign (#). (Check the help section of a particular database to find out which character is used.) Example: adolescen* would find "adolescent" or "adolescence".
- Field Searching: Limiting to Titles
Most databases allow you to limit your search to a specific field within each database record. If you are having trouble narrowing your search to a manageable number of articles relevant to your topic, limiting your search to the title field is an easy way to narrow the focus and limit the number of articles retrieved. Your search results should be highly relevant to your search terms because article titles tend to be very specific and indicative of subject content.
- Controlled Vocabulary
These terms are sometimes referred to as descriptors, subject headings, or subject terms. They are standardized terms developed as part of the structure of a particular database and used to identify the content of each item in the database in a consistent way. An actual human reviews each item going into a database and assigns the appropriate term or terms. Controlled vocabulary offers another tool for zeroing in on those needles in the database haystack.