Interdisciplinary program about children birth through 18 years old.
These online encyclopedias offer summaries of topics. Entries are written by experts and usually offer suggested readings for further information.
- Sage Knowledge
Formerly Sage Reference Online, offers full-text articles from around 50 scholarly encyclopedias, covering a wide range of the social sciences. You may keyword search the entire collection.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text access to over 35 scholarly encyclopedias and reference works on a wide variety of topics: business, education, environment, history, medicine, and the social sciences.
- World Book Online
Access 7 encyclopedias: World Book Advanced (high school/undergraduates); Kids (elementary); Student (middle/high school); Discover (differentiated instruction); 2 Spanish language & 1 French language.
Program faculty have created lists of the most useful journals in this field. Based on that information these datbases are the best to try first.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Full-text articles on all subjects from over 7900 journals, with indexing and abstracts for at least another 4300 journals dating back as far as 1911. Also includes full text articles from over 1100 magazines and trade journals, plus indexing for another 400 non-scholarly titles. Also indexes books, reports, and conference proceedings.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive database for sociology, with solid coverage for social work, social psychology, addictions, and criminal justice issues. Full text for 890 journals dating back as far as 1908, with selective text and abstracts for over 3500 others going back as far as 1895, plus numerous books, conference papers, and other monographs.
Full-text articles from over 3500 journals and magazines, with indexing for another 1500 as far back as 1971; full-text articles from over 1300 regional, national and international newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal; and 1500+ political science journals back to 1974.
- Sage Journals Online
Full-text articles from around 500 social sciences & humanities journals, back to 1999. Indexing only for articles older than 1999 & around 30 journals this library does not subscribe to. Click "Sage Content Available to Me" to limit to full text.
- Education Databases: Education Research Complete & ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Simultaneous search option for the two most comprehensive education databases.