This is the "Selected EWU/WSU Databases" page of the "High School STEM Programs Quick Guide to the Riverpoint Campus Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
How Do I...? Frequently Asked Questions Ask a Librarian Databases A-Z EWU Libraries Homepage

High School STEM Programs Quick Guide to the Riverpoint Campus Library   Tags: stem_high_school  

How to make the most of your visit to the Riverpoint Campus Library!
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2013 URL: http://ewu.v1.libguides.com/stemhigh Print Guide Email Alerts

Selected EWU/WSU Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected EWU Science and Technology Databases

Listed below are links to databases that EWU Libraries provide access to.  From off-campus, these databases are limited to EWU students, faculty, and staff. 

Non-EWU members of the Riverpoint community can access these resources at computer workstations located in the Riverpoint Campus Library.

  • EWU WorldCat Catalog
    Combined catalog allows you to search EWU, over 30 SUMMIT academic libraries in Washington & Oregon, and libraries worldwide. EWU holdings are ranked first. In addition to books and videos, you may also find citations for articles with links to their full text when available in the EWU system; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public.
  • General Science Databases
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)  
      
    Full-text articles on all subjects from over 7900 journals, with indexing and abstracts for at least another 4300 journals dating back as far as 1911. Also includes full text articles from over 1100 magazines and trade journals, plus indexing for another 400 non-scholarly titles. Also indexes books, reports, and conference proceedings.
  • Google Scholar
    Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web. Note the citation tracking feature. First set up the "Library Links" in Scholar Preferences. Make sure you are set up to search EWU resources. You will then see "Find it @ EWU" in your results.
  • Web of Science  
      
    What sets Web of Science apart from most other databases is its highly-developed citation-searching functionality, which allows you to locate a key article on your topic and then track later articles that cite the original article. NOTE: EWU subscribes only to the Science and Social Sciences component of WOS. For access to the Arts & Humanities component, check the WSU link.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Full-text articles from around 160 journals (mainly medical or scientific) and indexing for another 3200 journals. Most of the journals are published by Elsevier, but includes titles from 15 other scientific publishers as well.
  • Medicine
  • CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost) -- 1937-present  
      
    CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, indexes over 5,400 journals, a few as far back as 1937, and includes citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. CINAHL Complete adds full-text coverage for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
  • PubMed (EWU-specific)
    Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine, covering over 4,800 journals, back to 1948. PubMed is made available for free by the National Library of Medicine; note, however, that the this link connects PubMed to the EWU library system for greater ease of access to local full-text resources. Look for the "Check for Full Text" button within individual PubMed records.
  • Psychology
  • PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) --1806-present  
      
    "The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health" according to its vendor. Indexes over 2,500 journals (in dozens of languages) going back to the 1800s, plus selected book chapters, books, and dissertations.
  • Sports
  • SportDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)  
      
    Comprehensive database for sports, fitness, sports medicine, and physical education. Full-text articles from around 550 journals and magazines, plus selective indexing for around 1500 titles. Also indexes book chapters and conference proceedings.
  • Geology
  • GeoRef (EBSCOhost)  
      
    Comprehensive database for geology and geosciences. Indexes and summarizes relevant articles from over 3,500 journals (along with books, maps, conference papers, and dissertations) back to 1669 for North America and 1933 for the rest of the world.
  • Environmental Science
  • GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)  
      
    Indexes around 250 journals and 125 magazines (along with selected books and governmental reports) relating to the environment.
  • Engineering
  • IEEE Xplore (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)  
      
    Full-text articles from around 250 journals, around 875 conference proceedings, and over 1900 IEEE standards. Also includes over 450 full text eBooks published by MIT Press. Full coverage is back to 1988, with selected coverage back to 1913.
  • History
  • America: History & Life (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present  
      
    Comprehensive database for U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. It indexes articles from over 1700 history journals, book reviews from around 100 core history journals, & relevant dissertations.
  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) -- 1954-present  
      
    Comprehensive database for modern (1450 CE to the present) world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from over 2300 journals.

Selected WSU Science and Technology Databases

Listed below are links to databases that WSU Libraries provide access to.  From off-campus, these databases are limited to WSU students, faculty, and staff.  

Non-WSU members of the Riverpoint community can access these resources at computer workstations located in the Riverpoint Campus Library.

  • WSU WorldCat Catalog
    Combined catalog allows you to search WSU, over 30 SUMMIT academic libraries in Washington & Oregon, and libraries worldwide. WSU holdings are ranked first. In addition to books and videos, you may also find citations for articles with links to their full text when available in the EWU system; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public.
  • General Science Databases
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)  
      
    Full-text articles on all subjects from about 9000 journals, with indexing and abstracts for at least another 4000 periodicals (including magazines and newspapers) dating back as far as 1887. Also indexes books, reports, and conference proceedings.
  • Google Scholar
    Use Google Scholar to search for scholarly articles across the Web. Note the citation tracking feature. First set up the "Library Links" in Scholar Preferences. Make sure you are set up to search WSU resources. You will then see "Find it @ WSU" in your results.
  • Web of Science  
      
    What sets Web of Science apart from most other databases is its highly-developed citation-searching functionality, which allows you to locate a key article on your topic and then track later articles that cite the original article. The WSU subscription includes access to the Science, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities components of WOS.
  • Medicine
  • CINAHL with full-text link (EBSCohost) 1981-present  
      
    Comprehensive database for nursing and allied health, with full-text articles from around 325 journals & magazines, and indexing for over 2700 titles, along with books, dissertations & proceedings. A few titles are indexed back to 1937.
  • PubMed (WSU-specific)
    Comprehensive index to all aspects of medicine, covering over 4,800 journals, back to 1948. PubMed is made available for free by the National Library of Medicine; note, however, that the this link connects PubMed to the WSU library system for greater ease of access to local full-text resources. Look for the "Find it @ WSU" button within individual PubMed records.
  • Psychology
  • PsycInfo (Proquest) 1806-present  
      
    An index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals. Articles date from 1806 - present. Note: There are less than 146 records with publication dates prior to 1890. Updated weekly.
  • Environmental Science
  • GreenFile (EBSCOhost)  
      
    GreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. It includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
  • Agriculture
  • AGRICOLA
    Covers articles and books on agriculture; around 850 journals and magazines are currently being indexed back to 1970.
  • Business
  • Business Source Complete  
      
    Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.
  • Music
  • Oxford Music Online  
      
    Not so much a database as a portal to online encyclopedias and dictionaries on music. The Oxford Dictionary of Music includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Opera, and Jazz. These are fully searchable in combination with Larkin's Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Updated quarterly.
  • Art
  • Art Index (EBSCO)(HW Wilson)  
      
    Offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
  • Literature
  • Literature Resources (Gale)
    Cross-search two or more of Gale's literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online. Search indexes for an author, mood, geographic location, or literary element.

EWU Riverpoint Librarian

Profile Image
Jonathan Potter
Contact Info
509-368-6557
Send Email

WSU Riverpoint Librarian

Profile Image
Bob Pringle
Contact Info
Phone: 509-368-6973
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip